Best Automation Tools for Healthcare in 2026

Eight automation platforms are ranked here for healthcare providers and payers on five weighted criteria: HIPAA and compliance readiness, PHI handling and data residency, clinical and administrative integrations, audit and governance, and operational fit. UiPath scores 8.3 and ranks first; Microsoft Power Automate scores 8.0, Automation Anywhere 7.5, Boomi 7.3, Moxo 5.8, n8n 5.7, Make 4.3 and Zapier 4.1, re-scored on 28 and 29 September 2026 and updated for Moxo, Make and Zapier on 13 October 2026. HIPAA readiness carries 30 percent of the weight, so a platform that signs no Business Associate Agreement sits low however well it automates. Zapier says it is not HIPAA compliant and Make publishes no BAA, which leaves both suited to administrative work that carries no protected health information.

Rank Tool Score Best For Evaluated
1 UiPath

UiPath is an enterprise RPA platform used in healthcare and other industries, with approximately 10,747 customers across industries as of 31 January 2026 (UiPath Form 10-K, fiscal 2026) and a dedicated Healthcare Accelerator for claims processing, prior authorisation, and revenue-cycle automation. UiPath signs a BAA, lists HITRUST certification on trust.uipath.com, which its documentation names for Automation Cloud Dedicated (docs.uipath.com, read 13 October 2026), and supports on-premise deployment (Automation Suite) for organisations that require all data to remain inside the hospital network. Document Understanding extracts structured data from scanned referrals, faxes, and CMS-1500 claim forms.

Strengths:
  • HITRUST certification listed on trust.uipath.com, which docs.uipath.com names for Automation Cloud Dedicated, and a BAA offered to HIPAA covered entities and business associates (uipath.com privacy page, read 13 October 2026)
  • On-premise Automation Suite option keeps all PHI inside the hospital network
  • Document Understanding extracts data from faxes, referrals, and CMS-1500 forms
  • Healthcare Accelerator templates for claims, prior auth, and revenue cycle
Weaknesses:
  • Enterprise licensing is expensive at the low end — small clinics may find TCO prohibitive
  • On-premise Automation Suite requires dedicated Kubernetes infrastructure
  • Steep learning curve for clinical IT teams without prior RPA experience
8.3 Mid-size to enterprise healthcare providers automating claims, prior auth, and revenue-cycle workflows Oct 13, 2026
2 Power Automate

Microsoft Power Automate sits inside the Microsoft 365 ecosystem that many US healthcare organisations already run. As of 13 October 2026, Microsoft makes its HIPAA BAA available by default through the Microsoft Online Services Data Protection Addendum and states that services covered by the BAA are audited for HITRUST CSF certification (Microsoft Learn). Microsoft's HIPAA and HITECH scope list names Power Automate, Power Apps, Power BI, Azure, and Dynamics 365, and does not name Dataverse (Microsoft Learn, read 29 September 2026). The combination of cloud flows, desktop flows (for legacy system screen automation), and AI Builder covers both modern SaaS and legacy EHR data entry. Dataverse holds data for automations, and its BAA coverage should be confirmed with Microsoft before PHI is stored there.

Strengths:
  • BAA scope lists Power Automate, Power Apps, Power BI, Azure, and Dynamics 365; Dataverse is not named (Microsoft Learn HIPAA and HITECH page, read 29 September 2026)
  • Desktop flows automate legacy EHR screens without API access
  • AI Builder lists 14 prebuilt models, none healthcare-specific, and has been moving to Copilot Credits since 1 November 2025, when new customers could no longer buy AI Builder capacity add-ons; seeded AI Builder credits in premium licences reach end of life on 1 November 2026 and are honoured to the end of the contract term (Microsoft Learn, read 13 October 2026)
  • Strong fit for organisations already on Microsoft 365 and Dynamics
Weaknesses:
  • Per-user premium licensing required for HTTP connectors and Dataverse tables
  • Learning curve shifts between cloud flows, desktop flows, and AI Builder
  • Integrations with non-Microsoft SaaS are shallower than its Microsoft 365 and Dynamics connectors
8.0 Microsoft 365-centric healthcare organisations automating EHR data entry and intake Oct 13, 2026
3 Automation Anywhere

Automation Anywhere is an enterprise RPA platform used by large health systems and payer organisations. As of 13 October 2026, the vendor lists SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and HITRUST certification on its security page, lists a HIPAA report on its access-gated compliance portal, and signs BAAs with healthcare customers. The Automation 360 platform combines attended and unattended bots, document processing (Document Automation, the stated alternative to IQ Bot Cloud, which reached end of life in March 2026; Automation Anywhere community, read 29 September 2026), and Automation Co-Pilot for agent-assisted workflows. On-premise and private-cloud deployment models keep PHI processing inside the enterprise perimeter.

Strengths:
  • HIPAA, HITRUST CSF, and SOC 2 Type II attestations with BAA available
  • On-premise and private-cloud deployment keeps PHI inside the enterprise network
  • Document Automation, the stated alternative to IQ Bot Cloud, which reached end of life in March 2026, covers unstructured documents such as referrals, claims, and prior-auth forms (Automation Anywhere community, read 29 September 2026)
  • Established enterprise footprint in payer and provider organisations
Weaknesses:
  • Enterprise licensing model and implementation timeline — not for small clinics
  • Smaller partner ecosystem in healthcare than UiPath at the provider level
  • UI patterns are conventional — learning curve comparable to UiPath
7.5 Large payer and provider organisations automating claims, prior auth, and document-heavy workflows Oct 13, 2026
4 Boomi

Boomi is an enterprise iPaaS with published healthcare reference customers (hospitals, payers, and life-sciences companies). Boomi's help documentation describes a customer BAA for provisioned Flow tenants (help.boomi.com, updated 16 July 2026); plan gating and BAA scope for Integration and Atom are not stated. Its Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and a HIPAA attestation that is a Type 1 report (2025), and no HITRUST appears on the Trust Center or compliance pages (compliance.boomi.com, read 29 September 2026). The Atom runtime can be deployed on-premise, in a private cloud, or on a DMZ server, which means PHI can be processed entirely inside the hospital perimeter while the management plane stays cloud-based. Documented connectors include FHIR Client (R3 to R5) and MLLP for HL7 v2 transport, with HL7 in Trading Partner tied to a higher edition; none is named for Epic or Cerner (help.boomi.com, read 29 September 2026).

Strengths:
  • HIPAA Type 1 attestation (2025) and SOC 2 Type 2, with a documented customer BAA for Flow tenants; no HITRUST listed (compliance.boomi.com and help.boomi.com, read 29 September 2026)
  • Atom runtime deploys on-premise so PHI never leaves the hospital perimeter
  • FHIR Client (R3 to R5) and MLLP/HL7 connectors are documented, none named for Epic or Cerner (help.boomi.com, read 29 September 2026)
  • Strong fit for hybrid deployments that span EHR, ERP, and cloud SaaS
Weaknesses:
  • Enterprise licensing is not suitable for clinics under 50 employees
  • Requires integration architect involvement — not a self-serve tool
  • UI and experience lean traditional compared to modern iPaaS players
7.3 Enterprise hospitals and payers that need on-premise iPaaS with FHIR and HL7 integration Oct 13, 2026
5 Moxo

Moxo signs Business Associate Agreements, it told Automation Atlas in writing on 6 October 2026, but it publishes no BAA terms and has not said which plans the agreement covers or whether it extends to Moxo AI steps. Its legal pages still carry one HIPAA sentence, about its host: "The underlying AWS services used by the Service are HIPAA-eligible" (Description of Services, read 28 September 2026). Moxo says it hosts in AWS US and EU zones and offers private cloud and on-premises deployment. What it offers PHI is minimisation: file contents can be deleted automatically after a flow ends while the audit record stays, and an enhanced log-redaction mode exists for regulated customers. Five healthcare templates in the Moxo app, from prior authorisation to provider credentialing, give a clinic a head start, but Moxo confirms no native EHR, HL7 or FHIR connector sits behind them.

Strengths:
  • Moxo signs BAAs, and its SOC 2 Type II report and a penetration-test summary are available under NDA (Moxo's written answers to Automation Atlas, 6 October 2026)
  • File contents can be deleted automatically a set period after a flow completes or is cancelled while audit records are retained, and an enhanced log-redaction mode is available for regulated customers (Description of Services, read 28 September 2026)
  • Moxo hosts in AWS US and EU zones and offers private cloud and on-premises deployment, which no priced plan lists (Moxo's written answers, 6 October 2026; moxo.com/security and moxo.com/pricing, read 28 September 2026)
  • Referring physicians, payers and labs "can act without creating an account" through a time-limited link scoped to their own task (moxo.com/industry/healthcare, read 28 September 2026)
  • The Moxo app's template gallery holds five Healthcare templates, including Prior Authorization Coordination, Patient Intake & Medical Records Collection and Provider Credentialing, which cites "NCQA and Joint Commission standards" (read 28 September 2026)
Weaknesses:
  • No BAA terms, HITRUST CSF certification or HIPAA attestation are published, ISO 27001 is "in process" (Moxo, 6 October 2026), and the plans the BAA covers and its reach into Moxo AI steps are not stated; the gallery's HIPAA Business Associate Attestation template collects attestations from the user's own vendors and is not a Moxo BAA (read 28 September 2026)
  • No native Epic, Cerner, HL7 v2 or FHIR connector: Moxo says integrations run through its REST API, webhooks, or Zapier and Make (6 October 2026), and REST APIs and webhooks are listed from the custom-quoted Scale plan (moxo.com/pricing, 22 September 2026), although its healthcare page says Moxo connects to "EHR, practice management, payer portals" (read 28 September 2026)
  • Team is $5,000 a year for 100 flows a year, and a flow is one running instance of a template, so a clinic running one flow per referral covers fewer than two referrals a week before it buys extra flows, at a rate Moxo does not publish, or moves to the custom-quoted Scale plan, which also carries the audit log (moxo.com/pricing, 28 September 2026; Moxo, 6 October 2026)
  • ChenMed appears on moxo.com/customers as a one-line caption with no case-study page (/customers/chenmed returns 404), while two public healthcare case studies are linked there: Eden Wellstyle ("140% increase in client intake") and Sasha Esposito MFT (read 29 September 2026). Moxo states a 99.99% uptime SLA without naming the plan it applies to, and no support-response SLA is published (Moxo, 6 October 2026)
5.8 Care-coordination teams chasing referrals and credentialing with outside providers, once a signed BAA covers their plan and any AI steps Oct 13, 2026
6 n8n

n8n is a source-available, self-hostable workflow automation platform. Its LICENSE.md is the Sustainable Use License, a "fair-code" licence that is not OSI-approved and restricts use to internal business purposes; enterprise-only source files carry a separate licence. As of 29 September 2026, n8n has 206,262 GitHub stars (api.github.com/repos/n8n-io/n8n). The self-hosted deployment model is particularly relevant for healthcare: the platform runs entirely inside the organisation's network, PHI leaves it only through the external services and AI nodes a workflow calls, and the operator controls all audit logs, encryption keys, and user access. n8n supports HTTP, database, and AI nodes for custom EHR integration.

Strengths:
  • Self-hosted deployment keeps all PHI inside the organisation's network
  • Source-available code is auditable by the hospital security team
  • 206,262 GitHub stars as of 29 September 2026 (api.github.com/repos/n8n-io/n8n) and an active community for healthcare use cases
  • Custom HTTP and database nodes let IT teams integrate proprietary EHRs
Weaknesses:
  • No vendor-signed BAA on the self-hosted Community edition — compliance is the operator's responsibility
  • Requires in-house platform engineering to run, secure, and patch
  • Fewer prebuilt clinical-system templates than UiPath or Boomi
5.7 Healthcare IT teams with platform engineering capacity that need full-stack data residency Oct 13, 2026
7 Make

Make provides visual, scenario-based automation with a credit-based pricing model (make.com/en/pricing, read 29 September 2026). No Make page publishes a BAA or a HIPAA position: the security and enterprise pages list SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 and ISO 27001 and are silent on HIPAA (make.com/en/security and make.com/en/enterprise, read 13 October 2026), and a Make community post of 3 December 2024 said customer demand for HIPAA was still being evaluated (community.make.com/t/sign-baa-for-hipaa-compliance/62960). Each organisation chooses a US or EU data centre when it is created, and Enterprise adds audit logs, custom roles and a stated 99.5% cloud service uptime with defined support SLAs (help.make.com; make.com/en/blog/governance-in-make, 4 August 2026; make.com/en/security). With no BAA, it suits healthcare administrative workflows that carry no PHI.

Strengths:
  • Each organisation picks a US or EU data centre at creation, and a per-scenario "keep data confidential" setting stops data being stored after processing (help.make.com, read 13 October 2026)
  • Enterprise states 99.5% cloud service uptime with defined support SLAs and adds audit logs and custom roles (make.com/en/security and make.com/en/blog/governance-in-make, 4 August 2026, read 13 October 2026)
  • Published healthcare customer stories include Sterling Administration (adult and elder care, January 2023) and the Dutch pharmacy group APPO (March 2025) (make.com/en/success-stories/automation-in-healthcare and make.com/en/success-stories/how-make-helps-appo-group-reduce-medical-data-input-time, read 13 October 2026)
  • Credit-based pricing starts with a free plan, so admin flows can be trialled before any spend (make.com/en/pricing, read 29 September 2026)
Weaknesses:
  • No BAA is published on any Make plan, so any PHI use would need written confirmation from Make (make.com/en/security, read 13 October 2026)
  • No EHR, HL7, FHIR, claims or pharmacy connector; healthcare apps are a partner-maintained Cliniko app and a few community apps such as Healthie and Jane (make.com/integrations, read 13 October 2026)
  • Requires Make-specific expertise for advanced scenarios
4.3 Mid-size practices comfortable with visual scenarios and credit-based billing Oct 13, 2026
8 Zapier

Zapier suits the administrative work around a clinic that never touches patient records: staff rotas, supplier invoices, HR onboarding and inventory alerts. Over 9,000 integrated apps cover most of the SaaS a practice runs, and plans run Free, Professional (from $19.99 a month billed annually), Team (from $69 a month billed annually) and Enterprise (zapier.com/pricing, USD, read 13 October 2026). Patient data is the hard line: Zapier's terms of service bar protected health information, and Zapier signs no Business Associate Agreement (zapier.com/legal/terms-of-service, effective 9 April 2026, and zapier.com/legal/data-privacy). Customer data is hosted on AWS in the United States, and Enterprise admins can cut Zap history retention to 7 to 30 days (zapier.com/legal/data-privacy and help.zapier.com, read 13 October 2026).

Strengths:
  • A free plan and Professional from $19.99 a month (billed annually) let a practice start small on administrative work that carries no PHI (zapier.com/pricing, read 13 October 2026)
  • 9,000+ app integrations (as of October 2026) cover the SaaS stack of small and mid-size practices
  • Enterprise audit logs are kept for a year and can stream to Datadog or Splunk, alongside SAML SSO, SCIM and app and action restrictions (zapier.com/pricing and zapier.com/security-compliance, read 13 October 2026)
  • No-code interface means non-technical ops staff can build and maintain Zaps
Weaknesses:
  • No BAA on any plan: Zapier says it cannot sign BAAs "or equivalent agreements for handling PHI" (zapier.com/legal/data-privacy, read 13 October 2026)
  • No on-premises or private deployment and no customer-managed keys; Enterprise VPC peering reaches private data sources, but Zapier itself runs only in its own cloud (zapier.com/security-compliance, read 13 October 2026)
  • No EHR, HL7, FHIR, claims or pharmacy connector; the healthcare apps in its directory are small practice-management and EMR tools such as Practice EHR and Clinicminds (zapier.com/apps, read 13 October 2026)
4.1 Non-PHI administrative automation around a clinic Oct 13, 2026

Written & reviewed by Rafal Fila · Last updated:

Common Questions

How do banks and wealth firms use Moxo for client onboarding?

Moxo's financial-services page (read 13 October 2026) pitches account opening and KYC reviews as shared work: the client gets a secure link to see what is needed and sign, while relationship managers, compliance and operations staff review and approve inside one tracked flow. The named bank case studies do not describe the current product, though: Moxo told Automation Atlas in writing on 6 October 2026 that its Citibank, BNP Paribas and Bank of Queensland stories describe Moxo Classic.

Can healthcare teams run patient-facing workflows on Moxo?

Yes for coordination work, once a signed BAA is in hand: Moxo told Automation Atlas in writing on 6 October 2026 that it signs BAAs, but it publishes none and did not say which plans the agreement covers or whether it reaches Moxo AI. Moxo says it has no native EHR, HL7 or FHIR connector, so anything that reads or writes the chart runs through its REST API or webhooks, or through a tool that signs its own BAA. These are vendor statements.

Who is accountable when an AI agent acts in a Moxo workflow?

The company that deploys the agent is accountable: Moxo's Terms and Conditions (read 13 October 2026) make the customer "solely responsible for any AI Content, including the accuracy, quality, appropriateness, and legality thereof". In the workflow, a named person owns each human step, Moxo's REST API refuses an organisation key for completing it, AI agents are their own user kind, and the record shows who completed a step but nothing documented shows the approver read it (API 2.0.0, read 13 October 2026).

How does Moxo keep humans in control when AI agents run a workflow?

Moxo keeps people on the decisions by design: approvals and other human steps are ones its product page says "only a person can close", and AI agents can fill preparer, advisor or reviewer slots around them (both read 15 September 2026). The checks on AI output are opt-in, though. In synthetic AutomationAtlas tests that day, an AI extract step's "Human review" and "Supervisor Agent" switches were both off by default, and the builder accepted the same role as a form's submitter and its approver.

Related Guides